Aims

West Fest holds an annual festival in West Malvern (in Worcestershire, UK) each year to promote, encourage and showcase musicians, artists, craftspeople and performers from our community.

Proceeds

From the proceeds, last year grants were given mostly to local (West Malvern) organisations and causes. This year we aim to raise enough to become self-financing and to expand our support to the local music, arts and crafts community.

Organisation

West Fest is organised by a group of volunteers and many of the resources are given free of charge, so that overheads are kept to an absolute minimum and as much of the money raised as possible can be put towards our objectives.

Beneficiaries 2015

COLWALL ROTARY
ELIM (KRASH —Kids Really are Special Here)
HILLS ECHO
JAMBEROE
MALVERN CUBE
MALVERN SEA CADETS
MALVERN SCOUT GROUP
ORCHARD GROUP COLWALL
ST JAMES PRIMARY SCHOOL
ST JOHN AMBULANCE
TASK FORCE
WEST MALVERN CRICKET CLUB
WEST MALVERN DEFIBRILLATOR
WILLOWS


Archive

We are restructuring the archive - more soon!

Committee

The West Fest is run by a committee of volunteers.
For 2016, the committee comprises the following:

Chairman: John Brook   john@west-fest.org.uk
Treasurer: Phil Shellam   phil@west-fest.org.uk
Logistics: Simon Harris   
simon@west-fest.org.uk
General Stalls: Chris Harris   chris@west-fest.org.uk
Music: Paul White   paul@west-fest.org.uk
Bar: Phil Roberts  
phil.roberts@west-fest.org.uk
  Sue Dakin sue.dakin@west-fest.org.uk
Children's Activities: Sue Dakin sue.dakin@west-fest.org.uk
Web Site: Tim White  tim@west-fest.org.uk
Publicity: Tony Poyner tony@west-fest.org.uk
Volunteer Coordinator: Adrian (Nod) Malbon adrian@west-fest.org.uk
Consultants: Jon Ward west.fest@yahoo.co.uk


Grants

West Fest was founded to provide a community event, primarily for West Malvern. However, the event has active supporters (and audience) from the wider Malvern area, and in keeping with the ethos of the event the profits have been made available to the community in the Malvern Hills area.

The West Fest Committee invites applications for grants from groups or individuals to support community action, cultural development, training or to meet special needs.

Criteria

Requests for funding from profits of the 2015 West Fest were assessed on the following basis:

  • The extent to which the community in the Malvern Hills area is served i.e. across the age spectrum and the needs met.
  • Whether any funding would act as a catalyst for other community events or cultural activities.
  • Help for the disadvantaged.
  • The range of activities supported.
  • A need is met that is not supported by other means.
  • No one beneficiary will get more than 25% of the available funding.
  • We do not fund day-to-day operating expenses.

Where applications of equal merit were received, priority was given to beneficiaries in the West Malvern area and then to the other areas.

The decision of the West Fest Committee is final.